Marian Opala First Amendment Award

Named for the late state Supreme Court Justice Marian Opala, this award recognizes individuals who have promoted education about or protection of the individual rights guaranteed by the First Amendment.

2019: Submit Nominations Here

2018: Kay Boies, former executive director, Oklahoma Library Association
2017: David McCullough, Attorney, Doerner Saunders Daniel & Anderson
2016: Karen Holp, General Manager, KGOU
2015: Bill Young, Public Information Administrator, Oklahoma Department of Libraries
2014Rita Geiger, Educator, retired
2013Enid News & Eagle
2012: Anthony Shadid, New York Times reporter originally from Oklahoma City (awarded posthumously)
2011: Joann Bell, Executive Director of the American Civil Liberties Union of Oklahoma, retired
2010: Lindel Hutson, Oklahoma Associated Press Bureau Chief, retired
2009: not given – award moved to Sunshine Week
2008: Clara Luper, Civil Rights Pioneer, and Zach Taylor, Executive Director of the Association of Central Oklahoma Governments (awarded posthumously)
2007: Joey Senat, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Oklahoma State University
2006: Robert D. Nelon, J.D., First Amendment and Media Law attorney
2005: Sue Hale, Executive Editor of The Oklahoman
2004: Gary Allison, J.D., Professor, College of Law, University of Tulsa
2003: Drew Edmondson, Oklahoma Attorney General
2002: Ben Blackstock, Executive Director, Oklahoma Press Association, retired
2002: Marian Opala, Oklahoma Supreme Court Justice