More candidates sign Open Government Pledge

Seven more candidates for Tulsa municipal offices or the House District 55 seat have signed FOI Oklahoma's Open Government Pledge.

In signing the pledge, candidates “endorse the purpose of Oklahoma’s Open Meeting and Open Records laws to ensure and facilitate the public’s understanding of governmental processes and problems.”

They also “pledge to support at every opportunity the public policy of the State of Oklahoma that the people are vested with the inherent right to know and be fully informed about their government so that they can efficiently and intelligently exercise their inherent political power.”

Among the most recent signers are mayoral candidates Robert Gwin, David Lee O'Connor and Paul Tay. Other Tulsa signers are City Council candidates G.T. Bynum, District 9; James S. Mautino, District 6; and Roscoe Turner, District 3.

Jeff Ledford, a candidate for Oklahoma House District 55, also returned a signed pledge.

A complete list of signers and the pledge are available at the FOI Oklahoma Web site.

Joey Senat, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
OSU School of Journalism

The opinions expressed in this blog are those of the commentators and do not necessarily represent the position of FOI Oklahoma Inc., its staff, or its board of directors. Differing interpretations of open government law and policy are welcome.