Open Government Pledge signers elected to Tulsa mayor's office and three more seats on City Council

Three signers of FOI Oklahoma Inc.’s Open Government Pledge won seats on the Tulsa City Council and a fourth was elected as the city's mayor in the municipal election Tuesday.

A fifth signer
, Republican Bill Christiansen, was re-elected to his Tulsa City Council District 8 seat in the Sept. 8 primary.

Each has pledged that the city's government "will comply with not only the letter but also the spirit of Oklahoma's Open Meeting and Open Records laws.”

Dewey Bartlett Jr. and the council members take office Dec. 7.

Of the nine council districts, four will be represented by councilors who signed the pledge. They are
Roscoe Turner, D-Dist. 3; Jim Mautino, R-Dist. 6; Christiansen, R-Dist. 8; and G.T. Bynum, R-Dist. 9.

Tulsans should expect Bartlett and the four councilors to keep their promise
“to support at every opportunity the public policy of the State of Oklahoma that the people are vested with the inherent right to know and be fully informed about their government so that they can efficiently and intelligently exercise their inherent political power.”

Joey Senat, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
OSU School of Journalism

The opinions expressed in this blog are those of the commentators and do not necessarily represent the position of FOI Oklahoma Inc., its staff, or its board of directors. Differing interpretations of open government law and policy are welcome.