Pledge signers are elected to school boards for first time

Lynne Hardin and Melissa M. Abdo are the first school board members to have signed FOI Oklahoma's Open Government Pledge.
Hardin was elected Tuesday to lead the Oklahoma City School Board. She defeated incumbent Angela Monson by 169 votes, 3,376 to 3,207.
Abdo ran unopposed for the Jenks School Board.
As candidates, Abdo and Hardin promised that they and the school districts they were elected to govern "will comply with not only the letter but also the spirit of Oklahoma’s Open Meeting and Open Records laws."
They also pledged "to support at every opportunity the public policy of the State of Oklahoma that the people are vested with the inherent right to know and be fully informed about their government so that they can efficiently and intelligently exercise their inherent political power."
FOI Oklahoma began the Open Government Pledge in spring 2008 as part of a national effort to spur public commitments to government transparency from candidates for president down to city council contests.
Signers are listed on the FOI Oklahoma website.

Joey Senat, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
OSU School of Media & Strategic Communications

The opinions expressed in this blog are those of the commentators and do not necessarily represent the position of FOI Oklahoma Inc., its staff, or its board of directors. Differing interpretations of open government law and policy are welcome.